It’s been a few days now. God’s been taking me on a journey. Serving here at camp has been such a grand blessing, I’m excited about the next year with everyone here serving God! I miss those who have come through here over these last four months. I miss everyone that had served this summer, who I met and grew with, I was vulnerable with and cried with. I miss the love they had for the camp, serving God, and a love towards me that I have become unfamiliar with. Phileo love. For anyone who doesn’t know, Phileo is Greek for strong emotional affection between friends, normally meant for a deeper affection than casual friendships.

Yet, I am so unused to this kind of love. Or at least, to have it shown towards me intentionally. Not to say that no one has ever loved me, because that would be the biggest lie I have ever told! Being able to experience this love here was and still is overwhelming, in the sense of they are choosing to do whatever, because they love me! Which, is such a beautiful and joyous experience!

Now, let’s talk about what God has been and currently still is taking me through! His love is beyond our love! We cannot even begin to measure His love for us. His love for you. His love for me.
For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16
Probably one of the most famous Scripture references within the Christian community. Why? I believe it takes the mass of the Gospel that God planned and succeeded with the Lord Jesus Christ, all within a line of His holy word.

Let’s think about our relationship with God. It doesn’t matter if you grew up in church, you grew up in a dysfunctional home and later accepted Christ into your lives, or if you don’t have a single ounce of belief in God. This accounts for everyone and everything. THE FIRST FOUR WORDS OF JOHN 3:16! For God so loved… Who loved? God! Not just love, but SO LOVED! Say it to yourself, For God so loved. Emphasize SO.
Now, who does He love? The WORLD. The significance of the “world” is that it includes everybody that He created. Me. You. US! Those that love Him back, or don’t! Especially the ones that don’t love Him back! For while we were still sinners Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

Obviously, it’s not about what we do for God, but what God has done for us! Our love for God doesn’t save us, our love doesn’t entice God, causing Him to die for us! It is HIS LOVE for US that He sent His Son to die on a cross! The one that He loves so desperately, obsessively, desires, constantly wants to be with us, has died for you and for me!

What keeps us from Him? Our choices during our temptations. You hear “temptations” and it has this negative stigma about it. This essence of negativity just surrounds temptation. Recently, God has revealed to me through Oswald Chambers that temptation is not sin. but what is conjured up by the the devil to remove our love for God! IF we so desire to entertain the temptation trying to entice our spirit, then we are choosing to not love God. Yet God still loves us! Temptations are what we still have yet to give to God to handle. That in those moments, we need to drop down and pray. “Temptation is a suggested short cut to the realization of the highest at which I aim-not towards what I understand as evil, but towards what I understand as good.” -Chambers

We are told that we would face temptations. So the question now lies with us; “Are we going to give this to God?”

